Nowadays, most bureaucratic procedures are carried out online. Public Administrations must guarantee the same security of citizens’ data on the internet as is in the office.  

Get a quote

Law 11/2007, of June 22, 2007, on citizens' electronic access to Public Services, established the National Security Scheme (Esquema Nacional de Seguridad, or ENS) which, approved by Royal Decree 3/2010, of January 8, aims to ensure adequate protection of citizens' information. 

In 2015, the modification of the National Security Scheme was published through Royal Decree 951/2015, of October 23. This was in response to the evolution of the regulatory environment, especially the European Union, information technologies and the experience of the implementation of the Scheme.

Objectives of National Security Scheme

The National Security Scheme certification aims to:

  • Create the necessary conditions for the secure use of electronic media.
  • Establish the security policy of use.
  • Establish an action guide for the Public Administrations and their suppliers in terms of information technology security. 
  • Facilitate the interaction between Public Administrations by providing a common language, as well as communicating the information security requirements to the industry. 
  • Provide a homogeneous and periodic security procedure. 


Benefits of National Security Scheme

Companies and organizations that obtain the National Security Scheme certification will:

  • Comply with the applicable legislation.
  • Give confidence to Public Administrations and Private Sector Entities about the security of the IT services provided.
  • Increasing the opportunities for sales to the Public Administration.

Who must be certified by the National Security Scheme?

The National Security Scheme Certification affects all the information systems of the electronic administration of:

  • Spanish Public Administrations
  • Public law entities (Hospitals, Universities, etc.)
  • Public entities.
  • Operators belonging to the Private Sector that provide services or solutions to the Public Administration (Data Centers etc.).

Why certify by the National Security Scheme with Applus+ Certification?

Applus is accredited by ENAC (National Accreditation Entity) according to the UNE-EN ISO/IEC 17065:2012 standard, for certification and compliance with the ENS, complying with strict principles of impartiality, independence, integrity, confidentiality, objectivity and technical competence. This certification implies the possibility of auditing and certifying the security systems of companies with reference to the standards of the National Security Scheme (ENS).

Certify your information system according to ENS with Applus+ Certification to increase your chances of accessing the sale of services to the Public Administration.

Get a quote

Applus+ uses first-party and third-party cookies for analytical purposes and to show you personalized advertising based on a profile drawn up based on your browsing habits (eg. visited websites). Click HERE for more information. You can accept all cookies by pressing the "Accept" button or configure or reject their use by clicking here.

Cookie settings panel